Author Topic: Mini training in the UK  (Read 2291 times)

Offline zippernipper

• www.lukedampier.com
Mini training in the UK
« on: March 08, 2011, 10:59:56 AM »
Hey everyone,

Im a very keen sailor who at the age of 21 has built up over 40,000nm, raced on various boats from Open 60's to J/80's. I have been dieing to get into the mini series now for a couple of years and this year i'm finally going to man up and get a boat! I've been looking at boats for few months and was thinking of going direct through Open Sailing. I would like to eventually take the plunge and run my own mini campaign leading up to the Mini Transat, though for now due to time constraints and the biggest problem most people face being money, was going to race the boat round the UK in various SORC races etc. My question is if I were to get a boat would any UK mini sailors like to get together and organise some training over various weekends! Being new I would probally race the boat two handed leading into single handed races. I'm based in Bristol and currently working fulltime (which sucks) so weekends are really only possible for me at the moment. Im involved in the Warsash Spring series so if people are around or racing we could meet up and discuss a few things over some beers?

Luke

Offline Gdayguvnor

Re: Mini training in the UK
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2011, 21:49:36 PM »
Hi,

If you got my PM drop me a line as I am around for DH stuff as and when.....

Thanks
Gdayguvnor

Sponsored by
www.nautilusyachting.co.uk

Offline andyoll

« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2011, 00:44:45 AM »
Luke

See my recent post here: http://www.minitransat650.com/simple/index.php?topic=3050.msg16050#msg16050
There is a small (but growing) group of active Mini's in the Solent. The SORC and RSYC D/H races seem to be the focus for organised racing, but I think most of us get out on the water other times as well.
When will you have your boat?

Andy

Offline giles

« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2011, 01:38:31 AM »
Luke